Homemade Holiday Hot Chocolate

img_1734img_1736

“Mommy, are we going to have hot chocolate on Christmas Eve?” – my four year old has been asking all week.  At first I curiously would ask him “Christmas Eve?” wondering where he ever got the idea of hot chocolate on Christmas Eve.  But, I like it.  I love it, actually.  I told him: “Yes! Of course, hot chocolate on Christmas Eve sounds like a great idea.”  So here we are, perfecting our hot chocolate for Christmas Eve…

When I was little, we would often visit family in Argentina and it always blew my mind when I’d order hot chocolate at a restaurant or cafe and the waiter would serve me a tall glass with hot milk on tea plate, with a wrapped chocolate bar, and usually a teeny tiny sugar cookie. I would marvel with delight at that little chocolate bar, and unwrap it to dunk into the milk and stir until a perfectly smooth, delicious, chocolatey milk  formed.  It was the coolest thing to my little girl self, and a treat I only got in Argentina.  They call it “un submarino” in case you ever find yourself in Argentina craving hot chocolate, and want to order one 🙂

When Jack asked for hot chocolate earlier this week, I couldn’t help but think of those times in Argentina, ordering a true hot chocolate – made of real chocolate and milk, not Nesquik or Swiss Miss sugar laden stuff. Not that there’s anything wrong with Nesquik, I have a huge tub of it in our pantry! But, sometimes, if you have an extra 10 minutes it’s nice to make the real thing.  This is my Argentine inspired holiday hot chocolate: img_1710

img_1730

INGREDIENTS:

Whipped Cream

  1. 16 oz heavy whipping cream
  2. 1/4 cup granulated sugar

Hot Chocolate

  1. 5  oz 66% chocolate (depending on how rich you want your hot chocolate) + extra for garnish
  2. 4 cups (1 quart) of 2% milk
  3. 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
  4. 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  5. 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

DIRECTIONS:

  1. First, I like to make the whipped cream. Pour the heavy whipping cream into the mixer with the whisk attachment, add the sugar, and whisk on medium setting.  Keep an eye on it as you don’t want to over whisk your cream!
  2. Next, either use a double boiler or create one buy setting a glass bowl over a pot filled with simmering water. Add the chocolate and let heat until melted.  Be sure to stir the chocolate as it begins to melt, and take off the heat once melted, so as not to burn the chocolate.
  3. In a saucepan, over medium heat, pour the milk, sugar, cinnamon, and vanilla extract.  Once heated to desired temperature (I like mine pretty hot, but the kids like their’s warm) add the melted chocolate and whisk whisk whisk until a smooth, creamy, hot chocolate forms!
  4. Divide into mugs, add cream, and garnish with chocolate shavings if you like 🙂

img_1717

cheers!

Leave a Reply

